The Best Part of Waking Up

Happy weekend readers! I don’t know how the weather has been for all of you, but here in Maryland, Sunday consisted of rain, rain, and then a lot more rain. Most people get a little down in the dumps when its cold and wet outside, but I always look at it as an opportunity to slow me down. For those who know me, I have a serious problem sitting still. It’s something that drives me boyfriend, and me from time to time, crazy. He tells me that I vibrate. No matter what we’re doing, I am always thinking of what to do next, where to go, how to occupy myself, and when all of those questions are exhausted, I’m tapping my foot, bouncing my leg (thanks grandma for that restless leg syndrome I so wonderfully inherited), or some sort of fidgeting. In the past, gloomy days like today have given me the worst type of cabin fever, but over the years I have learned to take advantage of them. I am so busy moving and doing, that when I have to be inside, I have learned to stop and breathe. This morning I woke up and immediately thought, what is something that I have wanted to do, but haven’t been able to sit still for and do… and doughnut holes popped into my head. A few weeks ago I happened upon the most delicious looking image of doughnut holes on Pinterest and immediately book marked the recipe. It was a picture of chocolate doughnut holes from Smitten Kitchen and they made me instantly drool. The only problem, I am not a huge chocolate fan, especially not for breakfast. So I did some experimenting this morning standing in front of a pan full of hot oil, and made these delicious apple doughnut holes. Some i rolled in cinnamon sugar, and some I covered in an apple glaze, and both were just delicious, and the perfect start to a rainy day. Although making your own doughnuts is not as easy as running to the nearest donut shop, who wants to get hold and wet over a dozen doughnut holes!

Apple Doughnut Holes

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
3/4 cup sugar
4 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
2 eggs, room temp
1 cup milk
1/4 cup butter, melted
1 apple, medium, peeled, cored, and grated/shredded
vegetable oil for frying

In a mixer, mix together all the dry ingredients (flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, salt). All in eggs, milk, and butter and mix until a dough forms. Fold in apple shreds. Heat about 2 inches deep of oil in a pan to 350 degrees (Use a candy thermometer to monitor and maintain this temp during the entire cooking process). Drop dough into the oil, about a tablespoon at a time, and let cook on one side for 2 minutes, then flip over and cook for another two minutes, until the balls are an even golden brown. It is best to cook about 3-6 at a time. Transfer to a cookie sheet lined with paper towels and let drain for a few minutes and cool. When cooled and drained, roll in cinnamon sugar (1 cup sugar and 1 tbsp cinnamon), or glaze with the apple glaze.

Apple Glaze

2 cups powdered sugar
1/2 tsp milk
1 tbsp apple juice
1/4 tsp cinnamon

Sift powdered sugar into a bowl. Add in milk and apple juice and mix using a fork until all powdered sugar is dissolved. Stir in cinnamon. Roll doughnut holes in glaze and coat as desired. If you think the mixture is too think for your liking, add more apple juice 1/4 tsp at a time until desired consistency, but remember, a little bit goes a long way and you don’t want to get it too runny!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a comment