Easy as Pie

…Pizza pie that is. Lately I have been putting in some major overtime hours at work (Those student loans are not going to pay themselves, but boy do I wish they would!). So with late dinners and an early bed time, I have been racking my brain for how I can make a delicious meal without heating up something frozen, and avoiding the deadly drive through. So of course, the easiest thing to make that pops into my head is pizza. How can you go wrong with pizza! Cheese, loaded vegetables, crispy crust… divine! But how can I put a twist on the classic pizza, but still keep it easy and quick. So i did some research and found plenty of great ideas, but the one that a friend suggested to me was the winner, tortilla pizza. Now I don’t know about you, but I love the super thin, crunchy crust pizza’s that you can order from your typical pizza places, so a tortilla seemed the perfect substitution (plus a wheat tortilla makes it so much healthier, which helps with that diet I’m kinda sorta trying to stick to). So here is my rendition of a tortilla pizza. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

Image

Crispy Crunchy Tortilla Pizza

1 Large Tortilla, wheat or flour
2 Cups mozzarella cheese, although any Italian cheese would be delicious!
2 Tbsp pizza sauce or tomato sauce, I used 3 cheese tomato sauce for the extra creaminess
Toppings of your choice. Pictured is:
1 small sliced tomato
1 tsp dried oregano
Some sliced red onion
2 Tbsp fresh basil

On your stovetop grill pan, lightly oil the pan then add tortilla and cook on medium heat for a minute or two just to warm up. Add pizza/tomato sauce (be light on the sauce, too much can make the tortilla soggy, which is no good), and 1 1/2 cups cheese. Cover with a lid and let cook until the cheese is melted. Add toppings and then cover with the remaining 1/2 cup of cheese. Cover with the lid again and let cook for 5 minutes, or until the tortilla is golden brown on the bottom. From here you can enjoy! Or, for extra crispness, stick the pizza in the oven under the broiler for a minute or two until the cheese gets nice and bubbly. Or, if you’re feeling the summer weather, scrap the stovetop all together and cook on the grill for a slightly smokey flavor (which is my favorite way of cooking if you ask me.). Altogether, you made a pizza in less than 10 minutes, and using fresh ingredients makes it taste just that much better, and much healthier which is a plus!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a comment