I’m no Green Thumb.

The most wonderful thing about summertime for us Marylanders is the fact that things are finally green and for about 4 straight months, things actually grow and bloom and look wonderful. My mom, being a Californian, grew up with fresh fruits, veggies, etc in her backyard on hand year round at all times. How nice. So of course, her and my dad, as long as I can remember, have spent countless hours doing yard work as soon as the first little bud appears on a tree outside. I have never been one for getting my hands dirty, but after years of having fresh tomatoes on hand I am now willing to spare a day or two of dirt under my nails in exchange for fresh herbs, vegetables, and the occasional fruit just a few steps away from the kitchen sink. So naturally, with the weather starting to warm up and the plants starting to green up, I get the itch for those home grown fresh ingredients and the amazing recipes I can put together using them. Nothing tastes better than a juicy tomato fresh off the vine and some freshly picked basil leaves. So with this new summer inspiration, and cinco de mayo just around the corner, I grabbed a bunch of veggies and racked my brain for something delicious to throw together for dinner. So here is a great, and easy, chicken recipe that screams summer to me!

Image

Grilled Chicken with Summer Salsa

4 Chicken Breasts
Salt and Pepper for Seasoning
4 Tbsp Chili Powder

3 Large Tomatoes
1 Apple
1 Red Onion
1 Large Cucumber
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
3 Tbsp Red Wine Vinegar
1 Tsp Garlic Salt
Fresh cut Basil or Cilantro to taste. 

Season the chicken with the salt, pepper, and chili powder. Cook on medium heat, turning occasionally, until the juices run clear and the chicken is cooked thoroughly.  

Meanwhile…
Dice up all vegetables and mix together in a large bowl. Add oil, vinegar, and garlic salt and toss. Top with chopped herbs.

Serve chicken topped with salsa, or enjoy the salsa on the side with chips, crackers, or a toasted roll. 

Tagged , , ,

Leave a comment