The heart of the batter.

When thinking about my first post to put up here, I spent hours contimplating whether it would be about one of my kitchen mess ups, like the countless times I’ve attempted to make bread, and it just won’t rise (feel free to leave me some tips in this area! I need all the help I can get) or to just jump in and try some spectacular new meal challenge, such as taking on risotto, which my friend can just magically whip up so effortlessly (its the best damn risotto I’ve ever ever eaten). Instead, I decided to stick to what I know. Baking.

So today I am going to share with you my most demanded cupcake recipe. Cupcakes are what made me get started with that Kitchen Aid mixer. But long before I could even reach the knobs to turn on an oven, my great grandma first introduced me to the joy of food. Most summers, my parents would pack up our old Toyota, and drive the 8 hours to a town in Ohio and visit my family for a mini vacation, and we always stayed at my great grandma’s. I don’t remember much, just that she always kept her Christmas tree up in her basement, lights and bulbs and all, and that she had the most fantastic garden I have ever seen. I call her to this day great grandma with the garden, because she grew everything she ate, and loved to garden. But my most fond memory of visiting her adorable little home is her apple butter. Every morning for breakfast I would sit at the table with my grandpa and dad and eat a piece of toast with her homemade apple butter on it. And it was the best damn apple butter. So obviously I still find any excuse to use apple butter on or in anything. And I only use locally made apple butter, just because I have become a snob about it thanks to great grandma with the garden.

So here is my loved Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes with Apple Butter Cream Cheese Frosting, inspired by Great Grandma with the garden.

Image

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

2 cups all purpose flour
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 1/4 cups sugar
3 eggs
1 15oz can pumpkin
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup milk

Preheat oven to 350. Place paper baking cups in 24 cupcake cups. Combine together flour, baking powder and soda, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, and salt. Set to the side.
In your mixer, cream butter and sugar. Add eggs one at a time, incorporating well after each addition, and scraping the bowl as needed. Beat for an addition minute or two until nice and creamy. Beat in the pumpkin and the vanilla. The mixture may look a little chunky or not well blended, thats perfect! On low speed, mix in flour mixture, alternating with milk, beating until well blended.
Fill baking cups 2/3 of the way full, and bake for 18-23 minutes, or just until the edges turn golden brown. Allow cupcakes to cool completely until icing.

Apple Butter Cream Cheese Frosting

1 8oz block of cream cheese, softened
1/4 cup butter, softened
1/3 cup apple butter
1 tbsp cinnamon
8 oz powdered sugar

In mixer on medium speed, beat cream cheese and butter until creamy. Add in apple butter and cinnamon, beating until combined and scraping the bowl occasionally. Beat for an additional minute until fluffy. Add in powdered sugar a little bit at a time, beating until combined and fluffy, but spreadable. Either pipe or spread on top of your cooled cupcakes and enjoy!

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “The heart of the batter.

  1. Love the title, very clever. These cupcakes look delicious. I will definitely be trying out this recipe sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

